The Sound of Music

Clean, clear, and wholesome musicals like the Sound of Music, has its way of leaving a trail of beautiful tunes and memories, long after the performance is over. Read: It was a great performance by the cast!

One very enjoyable evening, though it did leave me swirling in a kaleidoscope of mixed feelings and thoughts.

The rolling hills of green… Hills, hills and more hills! Mountains are marvellous indeed; Mount Vesuvius I shall ascend in less than 10 months. Yes, of one belonging to the hills. Something in me, felt that I could identify with that, very, very much.

Maria’s whole journey of wondering if Nonnberg Abbey and a life of nunnery was that God which had been calling her to (Strange, two abbeys in my life, in a little over two days!)

As Captain von Trapp gently belted out “Edelweiss”, I had closed my eyes, listened deeply, and imagined a voice I once loved.

The religious overtones in the wise words of the head nun. She too had sung beautifully, well deserving of a standing ovation.

“I lift up my eyes to the hills.

From where does my help come?

My help comes from the Lord,

Who made Heaven and Earth.”

(Psalm 121:1-2, ESV)

The week ahead is filled with events, many shall be streaming into Durham for the very first time in their lives. I do remember my own first, Durham had been “Marche” multiplied by a million, the English idyllic life I had been dreaming of for years on end, had come true. We had cobblestone pavements then, and I remember running through the autumn leaves in the hills beyond my college, pausing in wonder for a moment to stare down at my brown shoes, standing amidst the pretty leaves.

I was here. I had finally set foot, here in beautiful Durham.

tumblr_inline_mktro7KuWZ1qz4rgp

Above: Photo memories, Autumn 2010 

I shall never forget these first moments. Never!

Am excited for the week ahead =)

Psalm 121 finishes,

“He will not let your foot be moved;

He who keeps you will not slumber.

Behold, He who keeps Israel

will neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord is your keeper;

The Lord is your shade on your right hand.

The sun shall not strike you by day,

nor the moon by night.

The Lord will keep you from all evil;

He will keep your life.

The Lord will keep

your going out and your coming in

from this time forth

and forevermore.”

Image

Rob Gonsalves, “Autumn A” 

Leave a Reply

