Angels: God’s Secret Agents

Image

The angel Gabriel, speaking to Mary of the coming birth of Christ

I first begin to think, more surely, about angels with the song “Whom Shall I fear/God’s Angel Armies“, by Chris Tomlin.

The song had been timely – I had stumbled upon it in Divine providence, whilst trudging through a difficult time of evangelism. In a bout of spiritual warfare, I had then begun to dwell more upon the good angels that God has put among our midst, which protect us against the Fallen angels.

John MacArthur had a great series on angels, to which, I think, is well-deserving to be listened to. I reflect on its significance here, in eagerness as I piece the situation then together.

Surely, truly,

“He will command His angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways”

– Psalm 91: 11.

Reading Billy Graham’s good book, “Angels: God’s Secret Agents” now, has further confirmed my beliefs – he traces them and their mention (over 300 times!) through the Old Testament, right on to the New.

The empire of angels is as vast as God’s creation. If you believe the Bible,

You too, will believe in their ministry.

I believe in angels. I truly believe, for I have encountered a few in this life of mine. I think to the day where I’d met the couple who had graciously facilitated my way on to High Force, as with the many other individuals I had met on my journey that amazing day. I think to the day when I had fallen outside my school, nursing a deep gash from the pavement, and a kind lady, her face blurry now, had stopped in great concern and who had calmed my then 8-yr-old heart. So deep were these impressions, that surely, surely…

Them whom God had been gracious to send my way, of whom I had only met once and none other. Surely, and if not,

Surely, they had been angels in some form.

~

“If the activities of the devil and his demons seem to be intensifying in these days, as I believe they are, should not the incredibly greater supernatural powers of God’s holy angels be even more indelibly impressed on the minds of people of faith? Surely the eye of faith sees many evidences of the supernatural display of God’s power and glory. 

Christians must never fail to sense the operation of angelic glory. It forever eclipses the world of demonic powers, as the Sun does the candle’s light. 

If you are a believer, expect powerful angels to accompany you in your life experiences. And let those events dramatically illustrate the friendly presence of the ‘holy ones’.” 

— Billy Graham, “Angels: God’s Secret Agents”

Leave a Reply

