I Change Not

Everything shall come and go.

Yesterday was beautiful, sun-kissed, picturesque.

Image

Today, but one bright little tree stands amidst the bleary, tentacled blue.

Image

I shivered as I stood in the bus-stand. I rarely take the bus, but the blustery cold winds this morning, which gathered the scattered autumn leaves in great gusts and heaves, & the beating rain, had been a little too much to bear, a little too cold for the long trudge home.

I sit in my wooden chair back at Lambton street, reading a letter, sipping a cup of hot tea, thick with milk.

Lots of parallels to be drawn, lots of precious life lessons to remember, in the turning of the trees, the shadows, the colours.

All else may change. Uncertainties abound, I must hold things loosely in my hand.

& yet, Hope.

“I am the LORD, I change not.”

Malachi 3: 6 

~

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above,

coming down from the Father of heavenly lights

with Whom there is

no variation or shadow of turning.”

James 1:17

~

By Your grace,

I return to gaze up at Your face.

I wonder often what You think of me, and Your answer, is always, in Christ alone, and what He did for me on the Cross.

I cannot wait, to spend time with You, to spend time with them,

to return to where You found me.

The Land of Smiles, its called. Yet You offer something more, something deeper, 

Joy.

& My heart, rested in You

steadily beats,

grows stronger.

image

Leave a Reply

