To the God I pray, & Intercessions for all men

Since God has said this:

“First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people” 1 Timothy 2: 1 ESV

A Prayer for All Conditions of Men

O GOD, the Creator and Preserver of all mankind, we humbly ask You for all sorts and conditions of men; that You would be pleased to make Your ways known unto them, your saving health unto all nations. More especially we pray for the good estate of the Church; that it may be so guided and governed by Your good Spirit that all who profess and call themselves Christians may be led into the way of truth, and hold the faith in unity of spirit, in the bond of peace, and in righteousness of life. Finally, we commend to Your fatherly goodness all those who are in anyway afflicted or distressed in mind, body, or estate; [especially those for whom our prayers are desired], that it may please You to comfort and relieve them, according to their several necessities, giving them patience under their sufferings, and a happy issue out of all their afflictions. This we ask for Jesus Christ His sake. Amen.

~ The Book of Common Prayer

I was reminded of the above, and this today, from the lovely Karrol Sneed:

To the God Whom I pray:

God, You are the great I AM.

You are all knowing, all-sufficient, ever-present and above all

Perfect Love.

God when I think of Jesus, my Lord and Savior,

I know You are my caring shepherd, my Jehovah-rahh.

Lord when I am anxious and worried,

You are Jehovah-jireh, the Lord who provides.

When I am, overcome with anxiety, worries and cares, when the challenges of this life are too great for me to bear,

I know You as Jehovah-shalom, the Lord of peace.

When my body and emotions are weak or sick

I come to You as Jehovah-rophe, the Lord who heals me.

When I am battle weary and need Your guidance,

I come to follow You as Jehovah-nissi. For You are the LORD my banner.

When the things of this world make no sense

I know You as Adonai-Jehovah, the Lord our Sovereign.

When the nations are at war and the politics of this world seems bent towards nothing but death and destruction,

I come to You as El-Elyon, the Lord Most High.

When I seek your face

I look for You as El-Olam, the Everlasting God.

When I face all those who are in need in this world,

the widows, orphans, hungry, down cast, lost, lonely, those who are afraid, those who have been abused, those who are faced with the loss of family and homes

then I know You are El-Shaddai, The God Who is Sufficient for the Needs of His People.

When I stand and look in awe at the sky, at the mountains, the grandeur of the vast canyon’s, the beautiful flowers, the morning dew,

I come into Your presence as Jehovah-Elohim, The Eternal Creator.

When I look into the face of a child,

I remember You as Jehovah-Hoseenu, The Lord our Maker.

When I feel lost and alone,

I know You as Jehovah-Shammah, The Lord is Present.

When I think of my sinfulness, my failures and my shortcomings

then I come to You as Jehovah-Tsidkenu, The Lord our Righteousness

Lord, as the morning sun rises and the evening sunset paints the skies with color,

I know You as Jehovah-Sabaoth, The Lord of Hosts.

For I know God that in the heavens,

the living creatures give glory, honor and thanks to You

who is seated on the throne,

the One who lives forever and ever.

Today I join in with the heavenly choir singing:
Holy, holy, holy,
is the LORD God Almighty,
Who was and is and is to come!

AMEN.

~

2 thoughts on “To the God I pray, & Intercessions for all men

  1. Pingback: Vertrouwen, Geloof, Roepen en Toeschrijving aan Jehovah #16 Voordelen van het bidden | Christadelphians : Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven

  2. Pingback: Trusting, Faith, Calling and Ascribing to Jehovah #16 Benefits of praying | Free Christadelphians : Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven

Leave a Reply

